

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 26 JUNE 2019

The Annual General Meeting will be held at 10.50am at The Studio, 7 Cannon Street, Birmingham, B2 5EP

AGM AGENDA

- 1. Minutes of 28 June 2018 Annual General Meeting
- 2. The Year's Work
 - (a) Chair's Report
 - (b) Chief Executive's Report
 - (c) Review of the Year

To be followed by a question and answer session

(d) Treasurer's Report

To be followed by a question and answer session

3.	Adoption of Financial Statements 2018	Appendix A
4.	Ordinary Resolution to Appoint the Auditors	Appendix B
5.	Ordinary Resolution to Authorise the Board to Fix the Remuneration of the Auditors	Appendix C
6.	Ordinary Resolutions to Elect the President and Vice Presidents (a) Emma Bridgewater (b) Sir Andrew Motion (c) Christine Drury	Appendix D Note 1
7.	Ordinary Resolution to Elect the Treasurer (a) Martin Tyler	Appendix E Note 2
8.	Ordinary Resolution to Elect One General Board Member (b) Robin Thompson	Appendix F
9.	Special Resolution to Elect a General Board Member	Appendix G Note 3

2018-19 Annual Review will be available at the AGM

Trustees' Annual Report and Financial Statements 2018 will be available on our website www.cpre.org.uk after the AGM, and hard copies will be available on the day

Note 1 (Agenda item 6) Election of President and Vice Presidents

The following are proposed by the Trustee Board for election. New proposals are denoted with (*) and a brief supporting statement is given below.

President

6(a) Emma Bridgewater

Vice Presidents

6(b) Sir Andrew Motion

6(c) Christine Drury*

<u>Supporting Statement - Christine Drury</u>

Christine Drury has worked as a volunteer with CPRE for 15 years since her retirement from senior marketing and environmental communications roles at Unilever.

A long time member of CPRE she got involved in 2004 as a member of her local district in Ashford in Kent, as the borough grappled with a government instruction to double its size, developing a compact development plan to do so without destroying its countryside setting. She was also became SE Regional Chair, working with the eight SE Region branches when statutory regional planning operated between 2004 and 2009. She became a vice chair and then chair of CPRE Kent stepping down after a 5 year term in 2018. She was concurrently also appointed a national trustee and deputy chair until 2019.

Christine is honoured to be considered as vice president at this time of CPRE's evolution. She remains involved at the grassroots as chair of the CPRE Ashford District, working in partnership with parish councils and green spaces groups as NPPF driven development crowds out much valued countryside. Christine believes that forging partnerships at national and local level that use CPRE's unique insights

and strengths in planning are as important now as they ever have been, with a role for vice presidents as part of that campaigning.

Christine is also a parish council chair; and trustee of the Thames Water Trust Fund providing money advice grants, and a trustee other local and national charities. Christine and Jolyon live in the Kent countryside that is also the Channel corridor, managing trees and a partly self-sufficient garden uplifted by birdsong.

Note 2 (Agenda item 7) Election of the Treasurer

The following is proposed by the Trustee Board for election. New proposals are denoted with (*) and a brief supporting statement is given below.

7(a) Martin Tyler*

Supporting Statement - Martin Tyler

Martin Tyler recently retired from a career in finance. working most recently as Director of Finance and Resources for the Refugee Council where he helped manage the organisation through a period of rapid growth in response to the Syrian refugee crisis. His career has included over 20 years in the voluntary sector including spells as Finance Director of Christian Aid, Fairtrade Foundation and Amnesty International UK.

While an accountant by background his experience also covers management of human resources, information technology, governance and legal issues. Martin has substantial experience of being a trustee including nine years as chair of Pesticides Action Network UK and is currently a trustee of the Overseas Development Institute.

While living on the Herts/Essex border during his working career he served his local community as a governor for the local primary school and was chair of his local village hall. He now lives in North Norfolk enjoying retirement including walking, cycling and gardening.

Note 3 (Agenda item 8) Election of One General Board Member

The following is proposed by the Trustee Board for election. New proposals are denoted with (*) and a brief supporting statement is given below.

8(a) Patricia Broadfoot*

<u>Supporting Statement - Patricia Broadfoot</u>

Patricia Broadfoot is Professor Emerita at the University of Bristol having previously held senior academic and management roles there. She was formerly Vice Chancellor of the University of Gloucestershire and was awarded the CBE for services to social science in 2006 and is an Academician of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Patricia brings a wealth of experience in the educational and voluntary sectors and has a particular interest in sustainability, as well as her academic interests.

Recent board roles include being a Governor of the Royal Agricultural University and Vice Chair of the Lloyds Bank Foundation. She is a licensed Reader in the Diocese of Gloucester and currently sits on the Bishops' Council.

Patricia has lived near Wotton under Edge in Gloucestershire for over 30 years and as a walker and horse-rider, cares passionately about protecting the countryside. Her interest in CPRE began when she became Chair of Keep Kingswood a Village' in 2012, an organization she helped to set up to fight excessive housing development in that part of Gloucestershire. She became Chair of CPRE Gloucestershire in 2017.

8(b) Robin Thompson

Robin is standing for election for a second term of office

The names and terms of office of all current Trustee Board members are given below:

Trustee	Role	Terms of Office	Notes
Su Sayer	Chair	2017-20	Second term of office
Lucie Hammond	Treasurer	2016-19	Retiring

Richard Simmons	Chair, Policy Committee	2018-21	Eligible for re-election until 2024
Robin Thompson	General Board Member	2016-19	Standing for re-election until 2022
Christine Drury	General Board Member	2016-19	Retiring
Steve Anderson	General Board Member	2017-20	Second term of office
Corinne Pluchino	General Board Member	2017-20	Eligible for re-election until 2023
Margaret Clark	Selected Board Member	Initially co-opted by the Board in 2015	Eligible for annual co- option by the Board until 2021
Andy Topley	Selected Board Member	Initially co-opted by the Board in 2017	Eligible for annual co- option by the Board until 2023
Will Rivers	General Board Member	2018-2021	Eligible for re-election until 2024